Serpentine Laurell K. Hamilton ~ Page 1

Read Online Books/Novels:SerpentineAuthor/Writer of Book/Novel:Laurell K. HamiltonLanguage:EnglishISBN/ ASIN:1472241789 (ISBN13: 9781472241788)Book Information:

Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, returns for her twenty-sixth adventure. Fans of Charlaine Harris and Anne Rice will delight in this series by Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author Laurell K. Hamilton. ‘A hardcore guilty pleasure’ – The Times Anita Blake faces new, even deadlier enemies as she and the people she loves confront major changes in their lives…

Vampire hunter Anita Blake has managed to overcome everything she faces. But this time there’s a monster that even she doesn’t know how to fight…

A remote Florida island is the perfect wedding destination for the upcoming nuptials of Anita’s fellow U.S. Marshal and best friend Edward. For Anita, the vacation is a welcome break, as it’s the first trip she gets to take with just wereleopards Micah and Nathaniel. But it’s not all fun and games and bachelor parties…

In this tropical paradise, Micah discovers a horrific new form of lycanthropy, one that has afflicted a single family for generations. Believed to be the result of an ancient Greek curse, it turns human bodies into a mass of snakes.

When long-simmering resentment leads to a big blowout within the wedding party, the last thing Anita needs is more drama. But it finds her anyway when women start disappearing from the hotel, and worse–her own friends and lovers are considered the prime suspects. There’s a strange power afoot that Anita has never confronted before, a force that’s rendering those around her helpless in its thrall. Unable to face it on her own, Anita is willing to accept help from even the deadliest places. Help that she will most certainly regret–if she survives at all, that is…Books by Author:Laurell K. Hamilton Books

First Chapter is missing due to memory limitation :(

2

"ANITA, ARE YOU all right""

I jumped, tripping over the hem of the dress and jerking the top of the dress hard enough that one breast popped out. I did manage not to drop my phone, though.

Donna, the bride-to-be, laughed and then looked away quickly as I fumbled to try to cover the breast that had escaped. There were enough laugh lines in her face to let me know she did it often. As her face relaxed, she looked younger"dare I say glowing" She just looked happy, and nothing makes someone as beautiful as happiness and being in love. No makeup or youth serum can come close to that beauty secret. "I"ve never seen you startle like that," she said with an edge of laughter still in her voice. "You and Ted are usually so hyperaware of your surroundings that I didn"t think it was possible for me to sneak up on either of you."

"I"m fine, just a little jumpy apparently," I said, but I was mentally cursing myself because she was right. I was in a public place and I"d had to hand over my gun and knives to our bodyguard, Nicky, because there was no way to have any weapons while we tailored the dress. If I"d been thinking, I would have brought a thigh holster and my Sig Sauer .380. Thigh holster was one of my least favorite ways to carry, but at least I could have kept one weapon on me. A belt holster on a formal dress had nowhere to hang, so I"d handed my weapons to Nicky. We had two more bodyguards outside the doors to the bridal shop, so I was safe, but I still didn"t like that Donna had been able to sneak up on me. Micah had talked to Nathaniel before he"d asked for privacy and just me. Whatever he"d said to Nathaniel had left our shared boyfriend smiling, so Micah"s doubts had only come to me"lucky me. I think I meant it on the lucky part; one of the three of us should be enjoying themselves today.

"Whatever you were thinking about just now isn"t fine," Donna said, raising a hand as if to smooth her hair back behind her ear. But the new hairdo was all soft, short curls that didn"t encroach on the smooth curve of her ears, which bore two delicate stud earrings. Her hair had been brown, but now it was almost blond, with just hints of her underlying brown, as if the sun had bleached it golden, but I"d been told she"d gone to a great hair stylist.

"You said it yourself, Donna. I let you sneak up on me in a public place. I could have been flashing a stranger."

She chuckled. "The halter dress looks great on Denny, but you . . ." She waved vaguely at me and shook her head, still smiling. "I"m sorry, I didn"t think about how different you and Denny are built when I asked for you to match her dress."

"Denny"s inseam must be seven inches longer than mine, Donna. Plus, she"s a serious runner and does triathlons, so she"s built long and lean. I"ll never be either of those things."

Donna hugged me, which was a little more awkward than normal, because I could only use one arm to hug her back unless I was willing to do a lot more than flash one breast. The thought of pressing my bare breasts against Donna in a close hug made me wildly uncomfortable. If I hadn"t been dating women, would it have bothered me as much" I think so. It wasn"t the girl-on-girl thing; it was the Donna thing.

"I forgot how much shorter you were than Denny; you always seem to fill up more space than that, just like Ted does." She drew back and I was happy the hugging was over, so I could try to rearrange the halter top as best I could.

"I forget that he"s only five-eight sometimes, too," I said.

"He seems like he must be at least six feet tall, doesn"t he"" she said.

I smiled and agreed because she was right. Nathaniel was actually an inch taller than Edward, but I always forgot that until they were standing next to each other for comparison. Part of the reason was that Nathaniel had only been five foot six when we met, so sometimes I remembered him as shorter than his full height.

"Thank you again, Anita, for flying to New Mexico this close to the wedding. I know how you hate to fly, and now you"ll have to fly home and then fly to Florida, so three flights instead of just one."

"Only your tailor here in New Mexico was going to be willing to make time in their schedule this close to the wedding, so I had to come to you."

Prev

Recommend books

Recent love novel added